Nox-Crete GCP Applied Technologies ACT JVI, Inc. Cresset Chemical UltraSpan CME Max USA Corp Euclid Splice Sleeve
Clayton Reservoir
Surrey, BC

Biophilic design contributes to urban life 

By: Matthew Woodruff

The Clayton Reservoir, located in Surrey, is designed to serve the needs of the expanding neighbourhood around it by supplying drinking water to current and future residents. The goal of the project was to expand upon this brief by humanizing the large structure and integrating it with the adjacent community park.

The client wanted a durable, low maintenance long-term solution. Consultation with the community led to design refinements and unanimous support. No budget premium was provided for the architectural treatment of the required precast concrete cladding. The reservoir’s service and maintenance spaces were designed for convenience, safety, and affordability while being fully integrated into the overall facade concept.

As a piece of infrastructure, Clayton Reservoir is designed to highlight the significance of the region’s drinking water network. The solution was born from a simple premise - that our democratic institutions are stronger when they are seen to be doing their work visibly and well. Through this lens then, situating the reservoir to make room for a soccer field and park, a facade as changeable as a mountain lake, and utilizing sunlight as the primary expressive device of the project becomes essential acts in strengthening the commons.

With the scale, size and location of the reservoir established by future needs and hydraulics, the architectural team’s role in the project were to soften and rationalize the form in a way that was legible and beautiful. Thus, it became a sculptural backdrop for the park, concealing the reservoir structure without impeding maintenance access. The building is also prepared to be expanded towards the north.

The walls become a sculptural backdrop for the park, with ever-changing shadow patterns created by the precast concrete cladding. The reservoir was relocated by the design team to contribute purposely to the urban design of its context by framing a large public space. The substantial size and simple shape of the reservoir were driven by the hydraulic and functional demands, as well as convenience, safety, and affordability.

In addition to its primary purpose of storing water, the reservoir grounds the neighbourhood with its presence and builds awareness of the qualities that infrastructure brings to society. The design mitigates the massive proportions by breaking down the facade to a more human scale, softening the presence of a 70-metre long, 8.5-metre-tall wall (230 feet x 28 feet) with organic shapes that offer a dynamic and sensual feel.

Inspired by the sensuality of water, the facade design aims to communicate the purpose of the reservoir through its architecture. The undulating facade changes every minute, with shadow patterns cast by the sculptural cladding varying over the course of the day and year in response to changing sun angles.

The precast concrete modular facade was developed through a deliberate process driven by technical and engineering requirements, as well as by a desire for innovation. The biophilic modules were created through a process of parametric form finding. The design team then turned to physical models to explore the performance of the organic shapes with the sun and the shadows they would generate.

Looking into future scenarios, the large reservoir roof with a high parapet provides a significant area for future photovoltaic arrays. The architectural team has begun discussions with the client organization to see if offsetting energy use at other facilities with the energy produced on this site is viable.

Clayton Water Reservoir is the story of a massive piece of infrastructure that reflects the client’s desire to highlight the beauty and significance of the region’s drinking water network while respecting the need for a durable, low maintenance long-term solution. Wearing a coat made of a single material, the reservoir is a good neighbour - quiet, respectful, and subdued. The project is a visible reminder that we value what we see, so by making visible the importance and presence of water as the source of community life, the project seeks to regenerate our collective appreciation of the role of government and infrastructure in a healthy and stable society.

The Biophilic Fac╠žade
Ideas about the mutability and liveliness of water drove the development of several abstract undulating wave patterns that communicate the purpose of the reservoir. Shadow patterns cast by the sculptural cladding vary over the course of the day and year in response to changing light intensity and sun angles.

It was paramount that the architectural solution did not cause delays to the tight construction schedule. Therefore, the precast concrete cladding system provided the desired aesthetic element, fast installation, and protection of thermal insulation.

Matthew Woodruff is a Founding Co-Principal at Local Practice Architecture + Design Ltd.

 

Photos: Andrew Latreille

Owner:
Metro Vancouver
Architect:
Local Practice Architecture + Design Ltd
Engineer:
Associated Engineering (B.C.) Ltd.
Contractor:
Westpro/Pomerleau
© CPCI 2012. All rights reserved.
Ottawa East Hockey CampGoalie Training Ottawa

Advanced Concrete Technologies GCP Chryso GCP Chryso Euclid Canada Exact Technology RATEC
Clayton Reservoir
Surrey, CB

Un concept biophilique qui contribue à la vie urbaine 

Par: Matthew Woodruff

Le Réservoir Clayton situé à Surrey a été conçu pour répondre aux besoins grandissants des quartiers avoisinants en fournissant de l’eau potable aux résidents existants et futurs. Le but du projet était d’atteindre cet objectif tout en donnant à l’imposante structure une dimension plus humaine et en l’intégrant le plus possible au parc communautaire adjacent.

Le client cherchait une solution durable qui nécessiterait peu d’entretien à long terme. Des consultations avec les membres de la communauté permirent de raffiner le concept tout en recevant l’appui unanime de tous. Aucun surplus n’avait été mis de côté dans le budget pour rehausser l’aspect architectural des panneaux de revêtement de béton préfabriqué. Les espaces réservés aux opérations et à l’entretien ont été conçus de telle sorte qu’ils soient avant tout sécuritaires, fonctionnels et abordables tout en étant pleinement intégrés au design de la façade.

En tant que projet d’infrastructure, le Réservoir Clayton est conçu pour souligner l’importance du réseau d’eau potable de la région. La solution est née d’une simple prémisse – nos institutions démocratiques sont plus fortes lorsqu’elles sont à la fois visibles et fonctionnelles. Ainsi, le choix d’un site qui donne plus de place à un terrain de soccer et à un parc, la conception d’une façade qui se compare à la surface d’un lac de montagne, et se servir de la lumière du soleil comme principal élément d’expression du projet, sont des gestes essentiels qui visent tous à souligner l’importance que l’on donne au milieu environnant.

Sachant que l’envergure, la dimension et l’emplacement du réservoir étaient déterminés à priori par l’hydraulique et les besoins futurs, le rôle de l’équipe architecturale était de donner à la structure une forme plus douce et rationnelle qui serait à la fois belle et lisible. Le réservoir est devenu pour le parc une toile de fond sculpturale qui permet de dissimuler la structure du réservoir sans toutefois nuire aux activités d’entretien. Il est aussi prévu que le bâtiment sera agrandi du côté nord.

Pour le parc, les murs deviennent une toile de fond sculpturale. Le revêtement extérieur de béton préfabriqué crée des patrons ombragés qui changent sans cesse. Le réservoir a été relocalisé par l’équipe de conception pour permettre l’intégration d’un grand espace public afin de mieux répondre aux besoins du contexte urbain. La simple forme et la grande dimension du réservoir ont été dictées non seulement par l’hydraulique et les exigences opérationnelles, mais aussi par la fonctionnalité, la sécurité et les contraintes budgétaires.

Un plus de jouer son premier rôle, celui d’entreposer de l’eau, le réservoir procure au voisinage un sens d’appartenance. Il contribue à souligner et à sensibiliser de l’importance des infrastructures dans notre société. Le design atténue les proportions massives en procurant à la façade une échelle plus humaine. Le mur de 70 mètres (230 pieds) de long par 8.5 mètres (28 pieds) de hauteur a été adouci à l’aide de formes organiques qui apportent une sensation sensuelle et dynamique.

Inspiré par la sensualité de l’eau, le design architectural de la façade cherche à communiquer la raison d’être du réservoir. Les formes ondulées sur la façade changent à chaque minute. Les patrons d’ombre jetés par le revêtement sculptural varient au cours de la journée et de l’année en fonction des changements d’angle du soleil.

La façade modulaire de béton préfabriqué est le résultat d’un processus délibéré dicté non seulement par les exigences techniques et d’ingénierie, mais aussi par le désir de l’innovation. Les modules biophiliques ont été créés au moyen d’une recherche de forme paramétrique. L’équipe de conception s’est ensuite tournée vers des modèles physiques afin d’explorer de façon plus concrète la performance des formes organiques en les exposant au soleil pour examiner les ombres qu’elles allaient projeter.

En jetant un regard sur des scénarios futurs, le grand toit recouvrant le réservoir avec son haut parapet offre une grande surface qui pourrait servir de plateforme à des panneaux solaires. L’équipe de conception a déjà initié des discussions avec le client pour évaluer la viabilité d’une telle initiative.

Le réservoir d’eau Clayton est une histoire d’une infrastructure massive qui reflète le désir du client à mettre en valeur la beauté et l’importance du réseau d’eau potable de la région tout en reconnaissant le besoin de trouver des solutions qui sont à la fois durables, viables et nécessitant peu d’entretien à long terme.

Avec son manteau fabriqué à partir d’un seul matériau, le réservoir est un bon voisin – silencieux, respectueux et discret. Le projet est un rappel visuel de l’importance que l’on donne aux choses que l’on voit. Ainsi, en rendant visible la présence et l’importance de l’eau comme source de vie au sein de notre communauté, le projet vise à renouveler notre appréciation collective du rôle que le gouvernement et les infrastructures jouent au sein d’une société stable et en santé.

Façade biophilique
Des idées basées sur la mutabilité et la vitalité de l’eau menèrent au développement de patrons abstraits ondulés en forme de vague pour communiquer la raison d’être du réservoir. Les ombres jetées par le revêtement sculptural varient au courant d’une journée et d’une année en fonction des changements de l’intensité et de l’inclinaison du soleil.

La solution architecturale choisie se devait de ne pas engendrer des délais dans le cadre d’un échéancier de construction très serré. Le système de revêtement composé d’éléments de béton préfabriqué permit d’atteindre l’aspect esthétique désiré tout en facilitant une installation rapide et en offrant une protection thermique.

Matthew Woodruff est co-fondateur de la firme Local Practice Architecture + Design Ltd.

 

Photos: Andrew Latreille

Propriétaire:
Metro Vancouver
Architecte:
Local Practice Architecture + Design Ltd
Ingénieur:
Associated Engineering (B.C.) Ltd.
Contracteur:
Westpro/Pomerleau
© CPCI 2012. All rights reserved.